Spotted Cow Blog

The Delta Riggs!!

Phil Coorey - Tuesday, May 24, 2011
They say there's no rest for the wicked and this couldn't be truer for iniquitous rock 'n' roll throwbacks The Delta Riggs. Days after winding up the Four to the Floor tour with fellow blues-rockers, Black Devil Yard Boss, The 'Riggs headed into Sydney's 301 studios to lay down their new EP, Talupo House Sessions Vol. 1, joined by US producer dp13.

Talupo House Sessions Vol. 1 is the first of two EP's to be released in 2011, taking both title and inspiration from the rural NSW farmhouse The Delta Riggs used as a writing haven in 2010. "Vol. 1" is a frantic, dark and immediate collection, that draws on the isolation felt by some members during this period, whilst celebrating vestiges of rock's whiskey-fuelled glory days.

As a band with a burgeoning live reputation, The Delta Riggs have captured their frenetic energy with the majority of the EP being recorded in a single "live" session. Opener 'Penny Drops', typifies the brash vigour that The Delta Riggs are becoming known for, with guitarist Aaron Jackson's howling riffage and references to the appeal of habitual abuse and a search for deeper fulfilment. On the foot stomping 'All The Little People', front man Elliott Hammond mixes fable with social commentary of small-town prejudice, with a harrowing tale of a mountain community terrorised by a blood-thirsty beast.

Elsewhere, quiet moment 'Don't Cry' explores their soulful penchant for southern gospel harmonies, whilst the psych-prog epic 'Heavy Water' promises to become a crowd favourite, with a massive half-time chorus drop and furious intro / outro jams. Talupo House Sessions Vol. 1… 6 blistering new tracks by The Delta Riggs. Get set to rock your cotton-pickin' socks off!

Come and check them out at the Cow this Friday Night!!! Free Gig